Records of Llanfihangel Aberbythych Parish Council, Carmarthenshire, 1894-1971, including records relating to administration, 1894-1952; financial records, 1940-1977; correspondence, 1925-1971; records relating to lighting, 1949-1970; records relating to election, 1945-1948; burial board material, -; records relating to Carmarthenshire County Council, 1950-1967; records relating to the National Association of Parish Councils, 1948-1968; and records relating to the Poor Law, 1899-1920.
Llanfihangel Aberbythych Parish Council Records
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 LLANFIHANGEL ABERBYTHYCH PC
- Dates of Creation1894-1971
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.16 cubic metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Parish councils were established by the Local Government Act 1894. Community councils replaced parish councils under local government reorganization in 1974.
Arranged into the following: administration; finance; correspondence; lighting; election; burial board; various booklets; Carmarthenshire County Council; National Association of Parish Councils; statutory instruments; Commons, Open Spaces and Footpaths Preservation Society; Literary and Philosophical Society of Liverpool; printed books; and material relating to the Poor Law.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Mr John Morgan, Clerk to the Community Council, Llanelli, May, 1976.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of the description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Catalogue of Llanfihangel Aberbythych Parish Council Records.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
The printed books were transferred to County Museum Abergwili on loan.
Accruals are not expected