Appointment diaries of Father Peter Fell 1974-1980, with newsletters and hymnsheets 1977-1981.
St David's Priory, Swansea (2nd deposit)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
St. David's Priory is the oldest Roman Catholic church in Swansea. It replaced an earlier church building which had been established c1808. Father Charles Kavanagh (d 1856) built the new church of St. David's in 1847 as well as the Catholic school adjoining St. David's. St. David's was enlarged and in 1864 a new presbytery was built. Most of the parishioners came from the Greenhill area and it became essential to build a church there and in 1866 St. Joseph's church opened.
In 1873 the parish was taken over by the monastic Order of Saint Benedict, and St. David's Church was elevated to the status of a Missionary Priory. In 1875 St. Joseph's became an independent Mission and a larger new church was opened in 1888. Today the mission is divided into two districts, St. David's which is responsible for Catholics in the area south of Croft and Thomas Street and St. Joseph's which is responsible for the Catholics north of this line.
Father Peter Fell OSB was the parish priest of St David's Priory.
Conditions Governing Access
Please contact the Archivist at Swansea University regarding access to this collection.
Deposited in April 1994.
Finding aid encoded by Julie Anderson April 2003.
Other Finding Aids
A paper list is available.
Conditions Governing Use
Contact repository for details. No publication without written permission from the Archivist.