Behrens MSS

Scope and Content

Manuscripts, deeds, documents, manuscript maps and plans, and printed matter, 1814-1904, relating to David Davies and other members of the Davies family of Llwyn, Cardiganshire, and of Ffrwd-fâl (Froodvale) and Rhosybedw, Carmarthenshire.

Administrative / Biographical History

There are two residences called Ffrwd-fâl or Froodvale in the parish of Caeo, Carmarthenshire. Old Ffrwd-fâl stands on the west bank of the river Cothi, and is referred to in several genealogies. It became part of the Glanranell estate, and in 1720 Thomas Price of Glanranell released the messuage called Ffrwd-fâl to Howell Price of Penycoed, Talley. By 1795 Ffrwd-fâl was in the possession of Benjamin Davies (fl. 1795-1824). His son David Davies (1793-1864) appears to have owned Ffrwd-fâl by 1827. As was common practice among the minor gentry, David Davies acted as the agent for a number of surrounding estates. In 1856 David Davies's eldest son, Benjamin Davies of St James, Middlesex, MD, married Jane Eliza Evans, daughter of Pierce Evans of Aberystwyth, Cardiganshire, esq. In 1883 Benjamin Davies was a doctor in medicine at Newport, Monmouthshire. Ffrwd-fâl passed to a younger son, John Morgan Davies (d. 1923), who in 1867-1868 built the new Ffrwd-fâl on slightly higher ground half a mile to the north of Old Froodvale. In 1888 John Morgan Davies is described as a land agent. John's son, Oswyn St Leger Davies, was killed in action in 1918, and on his death in 1923 John was survived by at least two daughters, Helen Elizabeth Behrens (fl. 1892-1938), wife of George Benjamin Behrens of Fron Yw, Denbighshire, and Miss A. M. Davies of Ffrwd-fâl. In 1924 the mansion was let to Herbert Tasman Davies, a company director from London, and most if not all of the estate was sold in 1925.

Arrangement

Arranged according to NLW MSS reference numbers: NLW MSS 11760-11788.

Access Information

Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to abide by the conditions set out in information provided when applying for their Readers' Tickets, whereby the reader shall become responsible for compliance with the Data Protection Act 2018 and the General Data Protection Regulation 2018 in relation to any processing by them of personal data obtained from modern records held at the Library.

Disgwylir i ddarllenwyr sydd am ddefnyddio papurau modern yn Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru gydymffurfio â Deddf Warchod Data 2018 a Rheoliadau Diogelu Data Cyffredinol 2018 yng nghyd-destun unrhyw brosesu ganddynt o ddata personol a gasglwyd o gofnodion modern sydd ar gadw yn y Llyfrgell. Nodir y manylion yn yr wybodaeth a roddir wrth wneud cais am Docyn Darllen.

Acquisition Information

Mrs Helen E. Behrens, granddaughter of David Davies; Erw Vran, Denbigh; Presentation; 1937 and 1938

Note

There are two residences called Ffrwd-fâl or Froodvale in the parish of Caeo, Carmarthenshire. Old Ffrwd-fâl stands on the west bank of the river Cothi, and is referred to in several genealogies. It became part of the Glanranell estate, and in 1720 Thomas Price of Glanranell released the messuage called Ffrwd-fâl to Howell Price of Penycoed, Talley. By 1795 Ffrwd-fâl was in the possession of Benjamin Davies (fl. 1795-1824). His son David Davies (1793-1864) appears to have owned Ffrwd-fâl by 1827. As was common practice among the minor gentry, David Davies acted as the agent for a number of surrounding estates. In 1856 David Davies's eldest son, Benjamin Davies of St James, Middlesex, MD, married Jane Eliza Evans, daughter of Pierce Evans of Aberystwyth, Cardiganshire, esq. In 1883 Benjamin Davies was a doctor in medicine at Newport, Monmouthshire. Ffrwd-fâl passed to a younger son, John Morgan Davies (d. 1923), who in 1867-1868 built the new Ffrwd-fâl on slightly higher ground half a mile to the north of Old Froodvale. In 1888 John Morgan Davies is described as a land agent. John's son, Oswyn St Leger Davies, was killed in action in 1918, and on his death in 1923 John was survived by at least two daughters, Helen Elizabeth Behrens (fl. 1892-1938), wife of George Benjamin Behrens of Fron Yw, Denbighshire, and Miss A. M. Davies of Ffrwd-fâl. In 1924 the mansion was let to Herbert Tasman Davies, a company director from London, and most if not all of the estate was sold in 1925.

The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Handlist of Manuscripts in the National Library of Wales, Volume IV (Aberystwyth, 1971); Archives Network Wales on-line site, viewed 21 October 2009.

Title based on contents.

Formerly known as Behrens 1-29.

Preferred citation: NLW MSS 11760-11788.

Other Finding Aids

The descriptions are also available in the Handlist of Manuscripts in the National Library of Wales, Volume IV (Aberystwyth, 1971).

Archivist's Note

October 2009.

Description compiled by Bethan Ifans for the retrospective conversion project of NLW MSS.

Related Material

See also NLW Davies (Ffrwd-fâl) Papers.

Additional Information

Published

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru = The National Library of Wales