Llanllechid Church papers, 1840-1938; school papers, 1895-1927; charity papers, 1826-1911; receipts concerning expenditure, administration and construction of Llanllechid National School, 1869-1937, and miscellaneous papers, 1859-1943.
Llanllechid Charity Church and School Papers
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XD/39
- Dates of Creation1826-1943
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish Welsh
- Physical DescriptionNot provided
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The parish of Llanllechid, Caernarfonshire, consists of Llanllechid village, with the church, the hamlet of Tâl-y-Bont, and the upper part of the parish, Nant-y-Bernglog, with Capel Curig Church. Llanllechid Parish School had been started in the parish church; from 1828 it operated on the National Plan, supported by subscription. Llanllechid National School was built in 1851. In 1905, Bangor Diocesan Schools Association proposed a scheme to transfer its schools, including Llanllechid, to Caernarvonshire Local Education Authority, but the LEA refused because of stipulations for religious instruction, and subsequently established Llanllechid Council School. In 1922, the possible merging or closure of the schools, owing to their small size, was raised; this eventually occurred in 1948. Llanllechid Church was the venue for radio broadcasts of Welsh services in 1932 and 1936.
Arranged into the following: church papers; school papers; charity papers; and miscellaneous.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Catalogue of the Llanllechid Charity Church and School Papers
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Caernarfon Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives. The catalogue is available online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright laws apply.
All records deposited at Caernarvon Record Office have been retained
Accruals are not expected.