Yorkshire Branch of the British Medical Association


The British Medical Association was founded, as the Provincial Medical and Surgical Society, in 1832 (it changed its name to the British Medical Association in 1855). District Branches of the PMSA/BMA developed in various places during the early 19th century. The Yorkshire Branch was founded in 1842. In 1903, a new constitution of the BMA divided Branches into Divisions. Yorkshire Branch had ten divisions, of which York was one; other divisions were at Scarborough, Leeds, Bradford, Wakefield, Sheffield, Halifax, Huddersfield, Harrogate and Richmond.

Additional Information