Scope and Content

Comprising: Records of Edlington Land and Development Company 1924-1950: General Correspondence 1924-1950, Repairs Correspondence 1924-1948, Shops Correspondence 1937-1946, Notebooks 20th century, Papers concerning Edlington Cinema 1920-1921, Papers concerning Lettings 1932-1946, Papers concerning Rents 1927-1940, Statements of Receipts and Expenditure 1942-1946, Bank Statements 1936-1948, Weekly Timesheets 1924-1930, Invoices and Delivery Notes 1946-1948, Miscellaneous Papers 1929; Records of Jarratt's Estates 1911-1945: Records concerning Bessacarr Estate 1911-1932, Records concerning Top Hall Estate 1938-1945, Records concerning Wellingley Farm 1930-1935, Records of Land Drainage Boards and Associated Bodies 1860-1946, Records concerning Adlingfleet and Whitgift 1860-1932, Records concerning Gainsborough 1939-1946; Records concerning Hatfield Chace 1909-1940, Records concerning South Common Drainage 1928-1936, Records concerning Torksey Pumping Station 1932-1935, Records concerning West Riding County Council 1927-1929, Other Records 1890-1944; Records Concerning Local Authorities: 1895-1928: Records concerning Castleford Urban District Council 1901-1927, Records concerning Conisbrough Water Supply 1895-1906, Records concerning Featherstone Urban District Council 1913, Records concerning Wheatley Urban District Council 1899-1910, Records concerning Sprotbrough Water Supply 1916-1928; Records Concerning Private Clients 1884-1948; Internal Records of The Firm 1903-1975; Plans 19th century-20th century

Administrative / Biographical History

John Simmons was engaged in 1875 by Benjamin Shaw Brundell of Doncaster (engineer and architect) as his chief assistant. Simmons had previously been articled to the Borough Engineer at Wisbech (See Doncaster Civil Trust Newsletter, number 44, 1984). In 1882 Brundell took his nephew Harry and John Simmons into partnership and the firm carried on business as Brundell, Simmons and Brundell. Some time after the death of Benjamin Shaw Brundell in 1897 John Simmons established his own practice. The firm was listed in the 1927 Kelly and Co Post Office Directory of the West Riding of Yorkshire, Doncaster and District Section as John Simmons and Sons. Much of the work of the firm concerned drainage and water supply matters. This is reflected in the sections of records relating to various land drainage boards and local authority water supplies. The first also dealt with the letting and repairs of houses belonging to the Edlington Land and Development Company. This company, originally a syndicate of Messrs Davies, Woolfe, Morriss and Davies of Cardiff, bought an interest to build houses in Edlington from a Mr Thompson in July 1910. Mr Thompson had bought his interest from the colliery owners, the Staveley Coal and Iron Company. Correspondence and other records relating to the Edlington Lane and Development Company also form part of this collection. It would appear that the firm closed sometime in 1980 as an entry appears in the 1980 Doncaster district telephone directory but not in that for 1981

Access Information



Acquisition Information

The records catalogued here were apparently given to Doncaster Museum and Art Gallery and subsequently transferred to Doncaster Archives in 1974. No further records were received after the firm closed

Related Material

For the archives of the Edlington Land and Development Company, see Doncaster Archives reference DY/EDLO