Records of the Scottish Society of Playwrights

Scope and Content

  • Collection of scripts by members of the Scottish Society of Playwrights, including Robert Kemp, Robins Millar, Tom Gallacher, William Grant, Alasdair Gray, Cecil P Taylor, Ena Lamont Stewart, Joan Ure, c1973-1990s
  • Administrative papers c1973-c1990

Administrative / Biographical History

The Scottish Society of Playwrights was co-founded by the playwrights Ena Lamont Stewart and Joan Ure (1919-1978) in 1973 . It aims to promote the development and production of theatre-writing in Scotland and to act for playwrights in all matters affecting them. It is a self-help organisation for Scottish playwrights with published works.

Access Information


Other Finding Aids

Item level descriptions are available via the online Scottish Theatre Archive catalogue at

Archivist's Note

Description compiled by Jo Peattie, Scottish Archive Network Project

Conversion from MS Access database, formatting and controlled access terms added by David Powell, Hub Project Archivist, November 2002

Related Material

GB 247 STA Bj-Br James F Arnott Collection of Scottish Theatre material