The collection contains 35 mm slides. The slides are of copies of documents, pictures and maps from other collections or repositories, and photographs of Wollaton taken by unknown photographers in the early to mid-20th century.
Black and white slides relating to Wollaton, Nottinghamshire, showing scenes dated c.1580-1955; slides created c.1955
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 MS 630
- Dates of Creation1955 (c)
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description93 slides
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Wollaton is a suburb about three miles from Nottingham city centre. Until the 1920s, when much of the Wollaton Hall estate was sold for housing developments, it was a village. Wollaton was known for agriculture and coal mining, and the Nottingham Canal passed through the village. Wollaton Hall, the home of the Willoughby family, Barons Middleton, is now used as a natural history museum and its grounds as a public park.
The compiler of this collection is unknown.
The slides have been arranged according to subject matter.
Conditions Governing Access
The collection is accessible for research purposes only, with the exception of the portraits of the Willoughby family (MS 630/69-77) which are restricted. Please contact us for advice.
Other Finding Aids
Copyright in all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.
In the Reading Room, King's Meadow Campus: Typescript catalogue, 18 pp.
Online: Catalogue available through the website of Manuscripts and Special Collections, Manuscripts Online Catalogue.
Conditions Governing Use
Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in writing from the Keeper of Manuscripts and Special Collections
We are unable to supply reprographic copies from this collection, because in most cases we do not know where the original material is held or the name of the copyright owner. Where material is identified, copies should be requested from the repositories which now hold the originals.
The slides were formally accessioned in 1992 after being used for exhibitions and talks by the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections at The University of Nottingham for many years.