George and Ann Dannatt: Papers on John Ireland

Scope and Content

Manuscript and printed material relating to the life and work of John Ireland, collected for a projected biography.

A. Correspondence, notes and unpublished articles

B. Legal documents relating to John Ireland (copies)

C. Notes, drafts, bibliography and list of Ireland's works

D. Concert programmes

E. Articles and reviews

F. Pamphlets and other materials

G. Photographs

Administrative / Biographical History

George Dannatt (b. 1915) was a music critic, journalist and artist.

John Nicholson Ireland (1879-1962), composer, was organist and choirmaster at St Luke's, Chelsea, 1904-1926, and Professor of Composition at the Royal College of Music, 1923-1939. His compositions include the Phantasy Trio in A minor, First Violin Sonata in D minor and Second Violin Sonata.

Access Information

Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.

Acquisition Information

Presented by George and Ann Dannatt, 1997.


Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.

Other Finding Aids

There is a detailed description of the collection in the Additional Manuscripts Catalogue, available in the Manuscripts Reading Room.