St Aldates is a central Oxford parish, roughly situated to the north of the River Thames, south of High Street, with St Ebbes and Holy Trinity parishes to the west and the college and lands of Christ Church to the east.
The parish church was first recorded in the 12th century. St Aldates absorbed the parish of St Michael at the Southgate in around 1525 and the parish of Holy Trinity (from St Ebbes parish) in 1956. The new parish of St Matthew’s, Grandpont, was formed from the southern part of St Aldates parish in 1913.
Throughout its history, St Aldates has also commonly been known as St Tolls, in addition to St Towles, St Towlles, and St Olds.
The majority of the parish records were originally deposited at the Bodleian Library by Canon Green, Rector of St Aldate, in 1975. Further charity records were deposited by the PCC in July 1990 as accession 3121.
Recatalogued by Katherine Kinrade in August 2018.