Lacons, Youell & Kemp records

Scope and Content

Records of Lacons, Youell & Kemp, namely a customer account ledger and an amalgamation agreement with Capital & Counties Bank.

Administrative / Biographical History

This private bank was established in 1791 as Lacons, Fisher & Co. in Yarmouth. The founding partners were Edmund Lacon, a brewer, and James Fisher, a merchant. It was also known as the Yarmouth, Norfolk and Suffolk bank. When Harveys & Hudsons (est. 1791) of Norwich failed in 1870, Lacons acquired some of its offices. By the time it was taken over by Capital & Counties Bank in 1901, it had become one of the largest banks in East Anglia.

Access Information

Access is by appointment only, and at the discretion of the Archivist. An 'Application for Access' form must be completed by researchers prior to their visit. Please e-mail for further details and a copy of the form.

Other Finding Aids

Item level catalogue available - please e-mail for further details.

Geographical Names