The main series of records consist of administrative documents in the form of accounts (1903-1950), correspondence (1919-1956) and records of orders (1933-46). Technical records are made up from a number of blue prints, technical drawings and photographs of machinery made by the firm. Work sheets, or 'size files' record components used in jobs undertaken by the company from 1910 to 1941, often with drawings. Finally, miscellaneous records include testimonial letters (1920-35) and various formal agreements (1921-1940).
Records of Pillatt and Company Limited, Ironfounders, Stapleford, Nottinghamshire, 1896-1956
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 Pi
- Dates of Creation1896-1956
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description37 boxes, 63 volumes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Pillatt and Co. was established in Queens Road, Nottingham in the 1890s, but moved to Stapleford in the 1900s. It produced boilers, furnaces and incinerators that were sold throughout the country and exported as far afield as South Africa. The firm closed in 1958.
Material is divided according to form (e.g. accounts, correspondence) and listed chronologically within sections.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.
- In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library: Typescript Catalogue to bundle level, 4 pp.
- At the National Register of Archives, London: Typescript Catalogue to bundle level, 4 pp.
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email email@example.com ). The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.
The records were presented to the University library in 1958 through the agency of a local firm of accountants.