The collection contains ten architectural drawings describing an unidentified three storydetached house, apparently from the late 18th century. The drawings present are for three elevationsincluding one marked: 'end front to the offices', a section, an elevation and detail of the frontporch and balcony, plans of the garret, chamber and cellar storeys, and elevation and plans of anextension. The drawings have manuscript annotations, for measurements and layouts of furniture andstairs for example. Also in the collection is a manuscript schedule providing details of keys andlocks required for particular rooms and showing diagrams of key design.
Architectural drawings for unidentified domestic property, 18th century
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 MS 485
- Dates of Creation1700-1799
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description11 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
This small collection of plans was apparently discovered within an old library volume. Neitherthe house nor the architect has been identified.
No archival arrangement has been necessary.
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
Other Finding Aids
- This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright on thedescription belongs to the University of Nottingham.
Conditions Governing Use
REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.
COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of any material from this collection must be soughtin advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections(email email@example.com). TheDepartment will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can be difficult and theresponsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishingto publish.
The collection was accessioned by the University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts andSpecial Collections in January 1989.