Parish records of Elvington

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1600-1642, 1651-1740, 1745-1977 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1800); register of marriages, 1600-1642, 1654-1740, 1745-1835, 1837-2010; register of burials, 1600-1642, 1654-1740, 1745-1941 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1780-1812, ages only from 1806); register of banns, 1823-1999; register of services, 1865-1979; register of confirmations, 1927-1988; register of graves, 1928-1950s; records concerning benefice income, including accounts, 1959-1962, tithe enquiry, c.1831, glebe deeds and papers, 1850-1947, sequestration papers, 1959, 1963, 1969, and correspondence and papers, 1913-1914, 1920, 1926-1928; charity records, including accounts, 1910-1965, deed, 1880, and papers, 1945; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1849-1885, papers regarding building of new church, 1818, 1875-1877, fabric papers, 1862-1980, churchyard papers, including a plan c.1928, 1934-1966; records of incumbents, including religious census return, 1851, notes on old sayings of Elvington, c.1885, parish organisation notes, 1937, dilapidations, 1927-1963, parsonage house papers, 1818, 1927, 1934, 1959-1960, 1964, 1970, statistical returns, 1960, 1962, benefice papers, 1972-1981, rectory papers, 1970-1971, incumbents' papers, 1880-1972, church membership returns, 1974-1981, and service papers, 1939, 1977; overseers’ records, including accounts for poor rate appeal, 1835-1837; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including religious lending library accounts, 1841, deed, 1916, rates, 1927, 1930, correspondence, 1961-1962, parish hall papers, 1973-1975, 1983, papers regarding playing field, 1946-1955, and church choir photograph, 1942; school records, including accounts, 1869-1886, correspondence, 1963, report, 1841, education terms, 1858, deeds, 1858, 1903, and correspondence concerning former school (now the parish hall), 1973-1975; surveyors’ records, including road maintenance agreement and map, 1813, and footpath diversion order, 1813; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1920-2000, accounts, 1841, 1943-1970, 1972-1981, correspondence and papers, 1922, 1945, 1968-1982, insurance papers, 1931-1939, papers concerning fund-raising events, 1977-1981, report on pastoral reorganisation in Pocklington deanery, 1971, quinquennial inspections, 1980, 1985, 1990, and specification for repairs and related correspondence, 1987, 1990.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Elvington was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. The advowson of the church descended with the manor of Elvington until 1626 when it was retained by the Crown. In the nineteenth century it passed to the Clarke family.

Little is known of the medieval parish church of Holy Trinity. It was described as being in a state of disrepair in 1663 and 1744, and in 1803 it was entirely rebuilt, largely at the expense of the rector, Reverend A. Cheap. The new church was repaired in 1849 and 1868 and then rebuilt again on a new site in 1876-1877. In 1968 the churchyard was extended.

A rectory house existed from at least the 1530s. It had been rebuilt by 1809 and was sold in 1970, a new rectory house being erected nearby the following year.

Today Elvington parish is part of the united benefice of Derwent Ings, along with East Cottingwith, Sutton upon Derwent, Thorganby and Wheldrake.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1963 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 2001 and 2010.

Note

The existence of a church at Elvington was recorded in Domesday in the eleventh century. The advowson of the church descended with the manor of Elvington until 1626 when it was retained by the Crown. In the nineteenth century it passed to the Clarke family.

Little is known of the medieval parish church of Holy Trinity. It was described as being in a state of disrepair in 1663 and 1744, and in 1803 it was entirely rebuilt, largely at the expense of the rector, Reverend A. Cheap. The new church was repaired in 1849 and 1868 and then rebuilt again on a new site in 1876-1877. In 1968 the churchyard was extended.

A rectory house existed from at least the 1530s. It had been rebuilt by 1809 and was sold in 1970, a new rectory house being erected nearby the following year.

Today Elvington parish is part of the united benefice of Derwent Ings, along with East Cottingwith, Sutton upon Derwent, Thorganby and Wheldrake.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2010.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, marriages, and burials, 1600-1900, and banns, 1823-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 680, 1753, 1760).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 08.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193