Weekly Report Books 1869-1955; Journals 1869-1955; Day Book 1934-1952; Cash Books 1894-1947; Petty Cash Book 1935-1955; general account book: coal, sales, deliveries, output, costs 1907-1927; account book: monthly output 1926-1936; mill account books 1932-1935; Weighbridge account book 1936; consignment books 1889-1895; Extract book 1927-1936; Forge Account Book: weekly deliveries of materials 1857-1911; Tinplate order books 1882-1884 and 1935; bar order book 1898-1902; orders files 1919 and 1931-1935; orders 1933-1935; purchase book 1934-1936; correspondence file: contracts 1935-1936; correspondence file: export permits and purchase certificates 1935-1936; invoice file 1935; stock books 1933-1935.
Morfa Tinplate Works
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Morfa Tinplate works were built at Llanelli, Carmarthenshire by Octavius Williams for Messrs. John S. Tregoning and Company c1851. John S. Tregoning and Company were tin and metal merchants of Liverpool and Bissoe, Cornwall. The works were managed by Octavius Williams until 1866. In 1872 J.S. Tregoning (junior) took over the management of the works and in 1878 he gained control of the whole business. The firm was from then on known as J.S. Tregoning and Son. J.S. Tregoning retired in 1897 and handed over the business to his two sons, another J.S. Tregoning and W.E. Cecil Tregoning. The firm was later registered as John S. Tregoning and Company Limited. In 1936 the Morfa works were acquired by Messrs. Richard Thomas and Company Limited and ceased trading as a separate company. The works were acquired by The Steel Company of Wales Limited in 1947.
Conditions Governing Access
Accessible to all researchers by appointment. Please note that somecollections contain sensitive information and access may be restricted.