Society records of the Methodist Church, Stamford Bridge (Wesleyan) Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Records of Trustees, including minute book, 1951-1977, and treasurer's account book, 1894-1949; Society Stewards' account books, 1939-1973; collections journals, 1898-1969; school bank book, 1908-1913; services notices book, 1954-1968; working papers, correspondence and receipts, 1951-1974; and typescript recollections of Reverend George E. Lawrence on the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the chapel, 1978.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

John Wesley, the founder of Methodism, preached at Stamford Bridge in 1753, and a house was registered for the use of local Methodists in 1781.

The first permanent Wesleyan Methodist chapel is believed to have been built in 1796. It was certainly present by 1818, when it was registered, and it is mentioned in Edward Baines' 1823 gazetteer of the county of York. It was rebuilt in 1828 and extended in the early twentieth century.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Stamford Bridge joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion. In 1981 it became part of York, South Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Church.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1984. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984 and 2013.

Note

John Wesley, the founder of Methodism, preached at Stamford Bridge in 1753, and a house was registered for the use of local Methodists in 1781.

The first permanent Wesleyan Methodist chapel is believed to have been built in 1796. It was certainly present by 1818, when it was registered, and it is mentioned in Edward Baines' 1823 gazetteer of the county of York. It was rebuilt in 1828 and extended in the early twentieth century.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, Stamford Bridge joined York, New Street Circuit (later renamed Clifton Circuit) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, it continued as part of the Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion. In 1981 it became part of York, South Circuit.

As of 2016 the chapel is still in use. Since 2012 it has been part of the York Circuit of the Methodist Church.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received prior to 2013. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 30.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Circuit, York, New Street and York, Centenary Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and York, Centenary and York, South Circuits of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of the York Circuit and York, New Street Circuit form a single archive (MRC/1), as do the records of both Centenary Circuits (MRC/3).

Additional Information

Published

GB193