Accounts book, 1858-1876
Ebenezer English Calvinistic Chapel, Merthyr Tydfil, records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Hope Church was founded in 1858 as a branch of Pontmorlais Welsh Church in order to meet the spiritual needs of the English speaking Calvinistic Methodists of the district. The officers of Pontmorlais bought a small chapel named Ebenezer situated near St Tydfil's Hospital and formerly the meeting house of the reformed Wesleyan Methodists and gave it to the new church which at first numbered only fifteen members. Within two years it was decided to seek larger premises and in 1861 Hope Church was built on the High Street.
Order at time of deposit retained
Deposited by the Secretary of Hope and Market Square United Church, August 2015
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by H Thomas for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to the Mid Glamorgan Chapel Survey (Ref.: MGCC/CS/52/38)
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records remained in the custody of the depositor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are not expected