Cymmer National School: log books, 1863-1878; list of boys on register, 1882; Inspectors' reports, 1865-1885; teacher contracts, 1872-1880; exam schedules, 1876-1883; and correspondence, 1866-1885
Cymmer Parish, Porth
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Cymmer National School was built in 1857 and also served as place of worship before St Paul's, Porth was built in 1886. The school became Llantrisant Cymmer Board School c1880. The original building was destroyed by fire in the early 1980s.
Chronological within record series.
Conditions Governing Access
Porth Newydd parish
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Andrew Thynne for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to Porth Newydd parish website
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records remained in the custody of the depositor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are possible.