Comprises of material relating to the dispersal of the Royal Architectural Museum collections by the Architectural Association, 1914-1921. Includes correspondence with the Victoria and Albert Museum and Exeter Cathedral, together with listings of material passed to storage facilities.
Dispersal of the Royal Architectural Museum Collections
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1968 RAM/03/03
- Dates of Creation1915-1921
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description0.02 cubic metres (1 box)
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In October 1915, the Architectural Association (AA) opened negotiations with the National Lending Library for the Blind to sell the Museum buildings so that larger premises could be found for the AA. The decision was taken to disperse the bulk of the Royal Architectural Museum (RAM) holdings and by January 1916, 3905 casts had been donated to the Victoria and Albert Museum (V&A), together with quantities of original works on paper and in stone, wood and iron. Further items from the RAM collections were purchased from the AA by the V&A in 1920 and 1921 and a section of mediaeval stained glass was returned to Exeter Cathedral in 1920. Whilst the items now owned by the V&A are still extant, it appears that a further quantity of casts, models and drawings were placed in storage by the AA in 1915, their fate being now assumed destroyed.
Arranged into a series reflecting the curatorial function of the dispersal of the Museum's collections.
Description prepared by Edward Bottoms. Works consulted; Bottoms, E., 'The Royal Architectural Museum in the Light of New Documentary Evidence', Journal of the History of Collections, 19 (2007), 1, pp. 115-139.
Bottoms, E., 'The Royal Architectural Museum in the Light of New Documentary Evidence', Journal of the History of Collections, 19 (2007), 1, pp. 115-139.