Comprises of vital company records relating to the incorporation, royal patronage, winding up and sale of the Royal Architectural Museum, 1869-1916.
Vital Company Records of the Royal Architectural Museum
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1968 RAM/02/01
- Dates of Creation1869-1916
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description0.015 cubic metres (5 files)
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Royal Architectural Museum gained royal patronage from Prince Albert (1819-1861) in August 1856, the continuation of which was confirmed in June 1869 by Queen Victoria (1819-1901), who additionally permitted the use of 'Royal' in the Museum title. In 1893 the RAM registered as an incorporated private company, under the name of the Royal Architectural Museum and Westminster School of Art. The Westminster School of Art was administered solely by the RAM but by this date its financial income dwarfed that of the Museum. The registered company was wound up in April 1903 when the Museum property was vested in the Architectural Association (AA). However, the Museum's administrative, legal and curatorial functions were continued by the AA until the sale of premises and dispersal of collections in 1916.
Arranged into a series reflecting the function of recording the Museum's legal existence and status as an incorporated private limited company with Royal Patronage.