Comprises of a Museum Prospectus, 1856; Architectural Museum Annual Reports, 1858-60 (2 copies); Sir George Gilbert Scott's 'A Guide To The Royal Architectural Museum...', (London, 1876) and John P. Seddon's 'Caskets of Jewels. A visit to the Architectural Museum', (London, 1884).
Published Textual Material Describing and Promoting the Museum Collections
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1968 RAM/03/02/01
- Dates of Creation1876-1884
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description002 cubic metres
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Royal Architectural Museum's first catalogue, published in 1855, was primarily the work of the Museum's Treasurer and founder, Sir George Gilbert Scott (1811-1878), however a Sub-committee for Catalogue also met briefly during the year of publication. A second catalogue, again the work of Scott, was published in 1877, providing a more comprehensive description of the Museum’s holdings. Engraving from The Builder of the interior of the Architectural Museum, Canon Row, c1850's.
Alternative Form Available
Copies of George Gilbert Scott's 'Guide to the Royal Architectural Museum' are held at the National Art Library, London, the British Library, London, the British Architectural Library, London and the Bodleian Library, Oxford. A copy of John P. Seddon's 'Caskets of Jewels...', is held at the National Art Library, London.