Comprises of records related to the educational role of the Royal Architectural Museum. Includes printed promotional material, [c.1851]-1856; records of Westminster School of Art’s relationship with the Department of Science and Art, 1888-1889; minutes of the Westminster School of Art Committee, 1875-1903.
Educational Records of the Royal Architectural Museum
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 1968 RAM/04
- Dates of Creation-1903
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description0.02 cubic meters (1 box)
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Royal Architectural Museum (RAM) was founded with the intention to improve educational opportunities for the art-worker and to raise standards of contemporary architectural sculpture. A school for art-workers opened in conjunction with the Museum from 1852-1854. In 1870 Architectural Art Classes were established in association with the Royal Institute of British Architects and the Architectural Association (AA). By 1873 the classes was in the sole control of the RAM and by 1888 had changed its name to the Westminster School of Art. In 1903 the Museum passed its premises and collections to the Architectural Association, which housed its School of Architecture within the Museum. Following the winding up of the Museum, the Westminster School of Art continued, with backing from the London County Council, operating from Nos. 75-76, Vincent Square, Westminster.
Arranged into three series reflecting the educational functions of the Royal Architectural Museum.