Registers (including service and banns registers) 1856-1998; Churchwardens' accounts 1882-1978; Easter Vestry minutes 1920-1974; PCC and Church Council minutes 1909-1976; papers relating to church property and buildings (including deeds and licences) 1855-1857.
Swansea, St Peter (Cockett) Ecclesiastical Parish Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 216 P/325/CW
- Dates of Creation1855-1998
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2.7 linear metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Church situated in the Cockett area of Swansea, Glamorgan. Parish formed from St Mary's in 1878. From it came Waunarlwydd, Swansea St Luke's (Cwmbwrla) and Caereithin. Includes St Illtyd's, Fforestfach (built 1897) and formerly St Deiniol's, Skomer Place, opened 1961, closed c. 1970).
Ecclesiastical records are arranged into Incumbent's records, PCC records, Churchwardens' records and church affairs.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Ecclesiastical Parishes, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are possible