Rhosddu Board School opened in the month of July, although there is some dispute as to which year. The first log book commenced in 1878 (ED/LB/91/3).
In 1893 the number of school pupils was 425 (ED/LB/91/1) and by 1914 this figure had increased by one. New school buildings were added to allow for a seperate infant school.
On 15th April 1915 Rhosddu Board School moved to new premises on Price's Lane. This new building was described as 'commodious' offering ground floor and first floor classrooms (ED/LB/91/4).
In 1921 there were 540 pupils on the roll of Rhosddu Board School who were being taught in 12 classes, 8 of these had 44 pupils or more in the class.
In 1945 Rhosddu Board School came under the jurisdiction of Wrexham Borough Council and became a County Primary Junior and Infant school (ED/LB/91/5).
By 1977 there was an issue with overcrowding and some of the classes move to the new Wats Dyke school.
On 1st September the infants and junior schools merged to form Rhosddu County Primary School.
This collection includes log books and admission registers.
12, Price's Lane, Wrexham. LL11 2ND
Previously known as Stansty Board School.
Related material held at Denbighshire Archives-
DD/DM/228/45- Nespaper cutting relating to closure of infants school. 20th century.(1 item)
NCD/1063 -Newspaper photograph of pupils of Rhosddu school. 1910. (1 item)
NCD/596,648 - Newspaper cuttings and photographs relating to Rhosddu school and colliery. 1982, 1983 (2 items)
CD/A4/44- Plans- 1912-1914.
CD/A/4/134- Plans- 1938.
W Alistair Williams, The Encyclopedia of Wrexham,2001