Society records of the Methodist Church, Murton Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Register of baptisms, 1929-1976; records of Trustees, including minute book, 1967-1976, and treasurer's account book, 1862-1921; property papers, including correspondence concerning land owned by the chapel, 1975, and papers and correspondence concerning the sale of the chapel, 1980-1982; letter concerning the condition of Naburn Chapel, 1979.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Wesleyan Chapel at Murton, near York, was built in 1862. It was designed by Edward Taylor of York and could accommodate up to 70 people. At the time of its foundation it was the only church or chapel in the village.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, it joined York, New Street Circuit (renamed Clifton Circuit in 1903) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, Murton continued as part of the York, Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion.

The chapel was closed in the 1970s and the building was later sold.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1984. Further additions were made to the archive in 1984 and at a later date.

Note

The Wesleyan Chapel at Murton, near York, was built in 1862. It was designed by Edward Taylor of York and could accommodate up to 70 people. At the time of its foundation it was the only church or chapel in the village.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, it joined York, New Street Circuit (renamed Clifton Circuit in 1903) in 1867 and was transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888. Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, Murton continued as part of the York, Centenary Circuit of what was now a unified Methodist Connexion.

The chapel was closed in the 1970s and the building was later sold.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 01.12.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Further records relating to Naburn Chapel, as well as the Circuit records for the York Circuit, York, New Street and York, Centenary Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and York, Centenary Circuit of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of the York Circuit and York, New Street Circuit form a single archive (MRC/1), as do the records of both Centenary Circuits (MRC/3).

Additional Information

Published

GB193