- Corporate records, 1930–1969;
- Shareholding records, 1964–1968;
- Financial records, 1890–1962;
- Production records, 1931;
- Sales records, 1931–1937;
- Staff records, 1931–c1945;
- Property records, 1960;
- Promotional material, 1931–1960;
- Photographs, c1985;
- Promotional material, 1931–1960;
- Artefacts, undated;
- Historical notes, 1986.
Records of John Fowler & Co Ltd, brewers, Prestonpans, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 JF
- Dates of Creation1907-1986
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.26 metres (2 boxes)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The business was established in about 1720 in a former whisky distillery in Prestonpans, Scotland. By 1744 the brewery was in the hands of Robert Fowler who was succeeded by his son, John Fowler . The site was extensively reconstructed in 1828 . John Fowler died in 1839 and the management passed to his nephew, Robert Hislop, who remained the sole proprietor until the White family acquired the business in 1865 . John Fowler & Co Ltd was registered as a limited liability company in 1865 to acquire the firm of the same name. The company, along with 36 licensed houses and 2 hotels, was acquired in April 1960 by Northern Breweries of Great Britain Ltd, York, England, who simultaneously acquired two other Scottish breweries, namely, William Murray & Co Ltd, Edinburgh, Scotland, and George Younger & Son Ltd, Alloa, Scotland. These three breweries were then grouped into a newly formed company called Caledonian Breweries Ltd, which in May 1960 became United Caledonian Breweries Ltd, when the companies of John Jeffrey & Co Ltd, Edinburgh, and James Aitken & Co Ltd, Falkirk, Scotland, were added to the group. United Caledonian Breweries Ltd operated as a management company for the Scottish interests of Northern Breweries of Great Britain Ltd (later United Breweries Ltd), York, England, and London, England, which merged in 1962 with Charrington & Co Ltd, London, England, through a holding company, Charrington United Breweries Ltd, London, England. Brewing ceased at Prestonpans in March 1962 , however, the Maltings were used for a little longer until the entire brewery closed in 1964 . John Fowler & Co Ltd was finally dissolved in 1989 . The brewery buildings and goods yard have since been converted into residential and commercial units that include houses called Fowler's Court , while the Maltings have become Prestonlinks Shopping Centre.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Morfax Ltd and Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
None which affect the use of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
Richmond, Lesley and Turton, Alison (eds), The Brewing Industry. A Guide to Historical Records, (Manchester and New York: Manchester University Press, 1990); McMaster, Charles and Rutherford, Tom, The Tennent Caledonian Breweries, (1985).
McMaster, Charles and Rutherford, Tom, The Tennent Caledonian Breweries, (1985).
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 29 October 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 14 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 18 April 2002.