Administrative records for Barnes Comprehensive School and its predecessor school Barnes County Secondary School.
Barnes Comprehensive School (formerly known as Barnes County Secondary School)
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 358 s14
- Dates of Creation1969 - 1977
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Separate Girls' and Boys' Central Schools were opened on the Lonsdale estate in Lonsdale Road, Barnes; Barnes Central Boys' School (ref: S12) in January 1921, and Barnes Central Girls' School (ref: S13) in January 1931. The schools ceased to be Central Schools in 1945, and became Barnes County Secondary Boys' School and Barnes County Secondary Girls' School. Both schools closed in July 1969, and, along with some boys from Mortlake Boys' School (Ref: S15), re-opened on the Lonsdale Road site as Barnes County Secondary School. It became a comprehensive school, known as Barnes Comprehensive School, in 1973, for pupils aged 11-16. The school closed in July 1977.
In July 1969, Barnes Central Boys' School (ref: S12) and Barnes Central Girls' School (ref: S13), two administratively separate schools on the same site in Lonsdale Road, Barnes, closed. A new mixed school, known as Barnes County Secondary School, opened on the same site in September 1969, along with some of the boys from Mortlake Boys' School (ref: S15), which also closed in September 1969. Some of the staff from the earlier schools were employed in the new school, but a new Head and Deputy Head were appointed, and all the records of the earlier schools closed in July 1969. New records began in September 1969. The records for the new school have therefore been catalogued separately. In 1973, the school became known as Barnes Comprehensive School, with no apparent change of administration and the same records remained in use. The records of Barnes Comprehensive School and Barnes County Secondary School are therefore catalogued together.
The Barnes Comprehensive School Collection is arranged into 1 series record:
- S14/1 Admissions registers, 1969-1977
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is closed and not currently available for research.
For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies
Other Finding Aids
A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html