Comprising: Eegistration: Registers of baptism 1594-1948; registers of marriages 1595-1969; registers of burials 1596-1959; registers of banns 1823-1992; confirmation 1917-1955; services 1877-1993; Incumbent 1737-1982; churchwardens 1300, 1764-1997 including terriers (3) 1764-1874, plans, specifications etc for new church on Warmsworth road site 1939-1940; vestry minutes 1942-1976; PCC minutes 1925-1983, accounts 1924-1983 and other records 1899-2011; Charities 1894, 1905-1923; schools (few items) 1894, 1903-1978; altered tithe apportionment 1926; other records 1837-1984, including five publications of Doncaster poor law union 1837-c1850, auction sale plan of Battie-Wrightson property in Edlington 1945, postcards of old church and Levitt Hagg early 20th century, newspaper cuttings on the demolition of the old church 1946-1948, D Morgan Rees, 'Warmsworth Hall'; (1970s), D Hey and J R Magilton, 'St Peter's Church, Warmsworth'; reprinted from Yorkshire Archaeological Journal, volume 55, 1983.
WARMSWORTH, ST PETER PARISH RECORDS
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The history of St Peter's reaches back to medieval times. The original site is about half a mile from the current building near the junction of the present day Church Lane and St Peter's Road. It is thought that this site has been used for religious worship for at least seven hundred years. There have been at least two churches on this site.
The original church was late Norman, which had a Georgian restoration. Subsequently the church was re-built in the Victorian period. The original church had a bell tower that was used to announce the services. This tower still stands at the junction of Barrel Lane and Glebe Street, which was the old entrance to Warmsworth Hall.
Work began on the current church in 1941, during World War II. It is the only church in the whole of the country to be consecrated during the war. The land was donated by the patron Mr Battie-Wrightson of Cusworth Hall. The cost of building was around £8444 and the church was consecrated on Saturday 28 March 1942 by the Bishop of Sheffield. On the same day in 1992 the church celebrated its 50th anniversary with a service of thanksgiving.
The collection is made up of ten series:
P31/1: Registration, Church Services, and Worship
P31/4: Vestry and Parochial Church Council
P31/5: Auxiliary Organisations
P31/9: Statutory Deposits
P31/10: Other Records
Access will be granted to any accredited member of Doncaster Libraries