Microfilms of letters written by Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy and his sister Fanny to their parents, and to each other

Scope and Content

Microfilms of 740 letters written by Felix Mendelssohn and his sister Fanny to their parents and to each other, 1821-47.

Administrative / Biographical History

Jacob Ludwig Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy (1809-47) was a composer. See the Grove Dictionary of Music for further details.

Conditions Governing Access

Entry to read in the Library is permitted only on presentation of a valid reader's card (for admissions procedures see http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk).


Collection level description created by Susan Thomas, Department of Special Collections and Western Manuscripts.

Other Finding Aids

A description is available in the Library, where there is also a card index to unpublished catalogues.

Related Material

For related material see Peter Ward Jones, Catalogue of the Mendelssohn papers in the Bodleian Library, Oxford, III (Tutzing, 1989), pp. 308-11.

Additional Information

The originals are located at the New York Public Library.