Papers regarding the Rectory and Vicarage of St Mary's Church, Haverfordwest and Middleton Charity, 1588-1856; Manor of Maenclochog, 1792-1919; Manor of Manorbier, 1792-1935; Manor of Penally, 1785-1926; Manor of Croedrath, 1820-1843; other manors, 1708-1843; Manorbier Castle visitor books, 1922-1929; and deeds and correspondence 1621-1967, including the lease of the manor of Beer and Penally, 1621; and sale and purchase particulars, 1908-1968.
Records relating to the Philipps family of Picton Castle
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 D/RTP/PIC
- Dates of Creation1588-1968
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionNot provided
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Picton Castle, Slebech, Pembrokeshire, was built in early 12th century by William de Picton and his descendants still occupy the Castle today, carrying the name of Philipps since the 15th Century. By marriage with an heiress of the Pictons, the Castle became the property of the Wogan family. The Wogans of Picton ended in heiresses and to Katherine, who married Owen Dunn of Muddlescombe, Pembrokeshire, fell the inheritance of Picton Castle. Their granddaughter, Joan, married Thomas Philipps of Cilsant, Llanwinio, Carmarthenshire (d. 1520), in 1491 and became first lord Philipps of Picton Castle. Their son, John married Elizabeth Griffith of Penrhyn Castle, Pembrokeshire. The eldest son, Richard (1535-1551) died and was succeeded by their younger son, William (d. 1573). When he died, his brother, Morgan (d. 1585) succeeded to his estates. His eldest son, Sir John Philipps (d. 1629) was created a Baronet in 1621. The baronetcy then was passed from father to son: Sir Richard Philipps (d. 1648), the 2nd Baron; Sir Erasmus Phillips (d. 1697), the 3rd Baron; Sir John Philipps (d. 1736), the 4th Baron, had three sons. The eldest, Sir Erasmus (1700-1743), 5th Baron, died and was succeeded by his younger brother, Sir John (1701- 1764), the 6th Baron, and the third son was Bulkeley of Abercover, Llandyfaelog, Carmarthenshire. Sir John's only son, Sir Richard Philipps (d. 1823) the 7th Baron, was created Lord Milford in 1776. He died childless, and the estate devolved on his cousin, Richard Bulkeley Phillips Grant (1801-1857) of Abercyfor, Llandyfaelog, Carmarthenshire, who assumed the surname Philipps. He died without issue, and his estates devolved upon his half-brother, the Rev. James Henry Alexander Philipps (formerly Gwyther) (1814-1875). His son-in-law, Sir Charles Edward Gregg Philipps (formerly Fisher), who was married to his daughter, Mary Philippa, succeeded him. This baronetcy descended to their son Sir Henry Erasmus Edward Philipps (1871-1938) and then to his son Sir John Erasmus Gwynne Alexander Philipps (1915-1948). The Picton castle estate included the lordships of several manors and the presentation of St Mary's Church, Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire.
Arranged into the following: Rectory and Vicarage of St Mary's Church, Haverfordwest and Middleton Charity; manors; deeds and correspondence; and sale and purchase.
Deposited by Messrs. RTP Williams, Solicitors, Bridge Street, Haverfordwest.
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description : Records relating to the Philipps family of Picton Castle catalogue; Nicholas, Thomas, Annals and Antiquities of the Counties and County Families of Wales, (London, 2000); The Dictionary of Welsh Biography down to 1940, (London, 1959); Philipps, Mary Margaret, The History of the Family of Philipps of Picton (London, 1906).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at the Pembrokeshire Record Office have been retained.
The records came into the possession of Messrs RTP Williams, Solicitors.
Accruals are not expected.