Minute books 1844-1975; Court Registers 1879-1974; Records relating to licensing 1903-1967; Records relating to adoptions; Other records 1935-1975
Swansea Hundred Petty Sessions
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Swansea Hundred Petty Sessions began with magistrates exercising jurisdiction over the area of the ancient Swansea Hundred. This included the Gower parishes (except Parcel Iscoed, an area between Three Crosses and Penclawdd), Loughor, Swansea (excluding the hamlet of St Thomas) and Llandeilo Talybont. Cases were heard initially in the Guildhall, Swansea, and later in the Swansea Police Court. Later still a courthouse was built at Gowerton. Magistrates for the Borough of Swansea held separate courts with jurisdiction over the Borough. Boundaries were altered in February 1868: the Gower parishes (with the exception of Llanrhidian Higher and Oystermouth) were formed into the new Gower Division, while the hamlets of Mawr, Clase, Penderry, St Thomas and Llansamlet Lower were ceded to Swansea Hundred from the former Llangyfelach Hundred. In 1974 Swansea Hundred was merged with Pontardawe Division to form the Lliw Valley Petty Sessions Division, whose boundaries were made to coincide with those of Lliw Valley Borough Council.
Arranged by series in date order.
Conditions Governing Access
Items within this collection which contain information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service not to disclose the names of depositors.
Compiled by Andrew Dulley, West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy catalogue at item level is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service, and an online version is on the West Glamorgan Archive Service website.
Conditions Governing Use
Normal copyright regulations apply.
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.