A typescript history of the village of Bourn, Cambridgeshire, 'edited by Mr A.B. Jeffries from materials kept by the late S.E. Minnis', 166 pages. There is a table of contents at the start of the first volume. At the beginning of the second volume is an aerial photograph of Bourn and an index. After the history in the second volume is an editor's note, followed by further pieces by Minnis on the later history of Bourn. This volume also includes two loose typescripts on the village.
Samuel Minnis: History of Bourn, Cambridgeshire
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Samuel Ellison Minnis (1882-1971) was born in March 1882, the son of the Revd Alexander Minnis of Saltersland, co. Londonderry. He was educated at Rainey School, Magherafelt; Queen's College, Galway; and the Royal University of Ireland, where he studied modern languages. Minnis joined the Inland Revenue in 1904, and in 1919 became Comptroller of Stamps and Income Tax and Assistant Registrar of Joint Stock Companies for Ireland. He was appointed Assistant Secretary, Board of Inland Revenue, in 1922. He died on 2 April 1971.
Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Presented by Miss R. Minnis, 1975.
Other Finding Aids
Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives. The biographical history was compiled with reference to the entry on Samuel Minnis in Who was who, vol. VII, 1971-1980 (London, 1981), p. 547.