Parish records of Upper Poppleton

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1829-1980; register of marriages, 1840-1997; register of burials, 1829-1950; register of banns, 1849-1974; register of services, 1910-1968; charity correspondence, 1956, 1960; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1789-1891, 1928-1957, building committee minutes of meetings, 1908-1910, fabric papers, 1890, 1924-1926, 1937-1962, and burial ground committee papers, 1945-1947; constables’ accounts, 1775-1829; overseers’ accounts, 1797-1835; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including minutes of meetings of church hall trustees, 1934-1956; school records, including minutes of meetings of management committee, 1919-1932, and Sunday School minutes of meetings and accounts, 1936-1945; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1906-1907, 1936-1946, and electoral register, 1957-1971.

Administrative / Biographical History

Upper Poppleton was originally a chapelry within the medieval parish of York, St Mary Bishophill Junior and thus subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York until the nineteenth century. In 1844 the chapelry became part of a new parish of Copmanthorpe with Upper Poppleton, and then in 1866 it separated from Copmanthorpe to join the existing parish and benefice of Nether Poppleton, which became Nether Poppleton with Upper Poppleton.

The present church, which is dedicated to All Saints, was built in 1890 by architect Charles Hodgson Fowler, replacing the medieval chapel of All Hallows. The church was altered in 1959-1972 by George Pace.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1968 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1980, 1996 and 1998.

Note

Upper Poppleton was originally a chapelry within the medieval parish of York, St Mary Bishophill Junior and thus subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean and Chapter of York until the nineteenth century. In 1844 the chapelry became part of a new parish of Copmanthorpe with Upper Poppleton, and then in 1866 it separated from Copmanthorpe to join the existing parish and benefice of Nether Poppleton, which became Nether Poppleton with Upper Poppleton.

The present church, which is dedicated to All Saints, was built in 1890 by architect Charles Hodgson Fowler, replacing the medieval chapel of All Hallows. The church was altered in 1959-1972 by George Pace.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1998.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1829-1980, marriages, 1840-1978, burials, 1829-1950, and banns, 1824-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 754, 1760).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The parish records of Nether Poppleton and Poppleton are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193