Rhiwbach Quarry records, comprising correspondence and papers, 1875-1915, including blue-prints translated from French; arrival book of the Plas Coch Hotel, Bala, 1862-1870; pamphlets, 1903-1910; bilingual circular letters, 1921, 1929; and plans, [undated].
Files of the Rhiwbach Slate Quarry, Blaenau Ffestiniog
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/M/79
- Dates of Creation1875-1929
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish Welsh
- Physical DescriptionNot provided
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Rhiwbach Slate Quarry has been commercially exploited since 1812. The quarry was electrified in 1934 and finally closed in 1953.
Arranged into the following: file of correspondence; Plas Coch hotel arrival book; pamphlets; circular letter; and plans.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Meirionnydd Archives, Miscellaneous Collection (Dolgellau), Files of the Rhiwbach Slate Quarry, Blaenau Ffestiniog; Richards, Alun John A Gazeteer of the Welsh Slate Industry(Llanrwst, 1991)
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Meirionnydd Archives, the National Register of Archives and the National Library of Wales. The catalogue is available online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright laws apply.
All records deposited at Meirionnydd Archives have been retained.
The Quarry records passed to Mrs R. E. Jones, together with those of the Plas Coch Hotel, Bala, Meritionethshire.
Accruals are not expected.