Records of Locket’s Merthyr Collieries (1894) Ltd. Comprises agent’s letters and reports and accident and compensation registers.
Locket’s Merthyr Collieries (1894) Limited, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1877 Locket’s Merthyr Company acquired Mardy Colliery (Mardy No.1 and Mardy No.2 Pits), Maerdy, Rhondda Fach. In 1893 Locket’s Merthyr sunk Mardy No.3 pit and in 1914 they sunk Mardy No.4 pit.
In 1932 Mardy was taken over by Bwllfa and Cwmaman Collieries Ltd, which was part of Welsh Associated Collieries. Following the merger of Welsh Associated Collieries and Powell Duffryn the colliery passed into the hands of Powell Duffryn Associated Collieries, closing in 1940.
In 1948 the National Coal Board approved a £4 million reconstruction project to reopen and reconstruct Mardy No.3 and No.4 shafts.
Mardy Colliery was also known as Maerdy Colliery. The National Coal Board renamed the colliery 'Mardy' in 1948 to avoid confusion with Maerdy Colliery in Carmarthenshire.
An artificial arrangement has been imposed on the collection, with items catalogued under the following series: Agent’s Department, Staff
Conditions Governing Access
Items containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with data protection legislation and GA policy.
The material within this collection was deposited by the National Coal Board on 13 June 1957 and the British Coal Corporation in 1992.
Compiled by Louise Clarke for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to John Cornwell, Collieries of South Wales: 1, pp.152-153; Lawrence, Ray, Mines of the South Wales Coalfield, Colliery Index, 2009. Report of the Glamorgan Archivist, 1 Apr 1944-31 Mar 1999, pp.17-22. This catalogue was produced with support from the Wellcome Trust as part of the cataloguing project, 'Glamorgan's Blood: Dark Arteries, Old Veins’.
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of the Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
This collection has been brought together from material deposited by the National Coal Board on 13 June 1957 and the British Coal Corporation in 1992. This collection has been brought together from the following accessions: DNCB/16 (acc no: U1957/1078); and DNCB/63 (no accession number identified). The previous reference number for each item is listed in its individual catalogue entry.
Accruals are not expected.