Pay sheets 1927-1930
Amalgamated Anthracite Collieries Ltd
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1913 there were around one hundred separate collieries in the south Wales anthracite coalfield. Many of these collieries were small slant mines which had very influence over prices or wages. By 1923, two large-scale companies, Amalgamated Anthracite Collieries Ltd and United Anthracite Anthracite Collieries were established. Both companies were formed with the intention of uniting the anthracite mines but this was not possible as long as both companies existed. Therefore, in 1928, these two principle companies merged to form the Amalgamated Anthracite Collieries Ltd. This new company controlled about 80% of coal production within the anthracite area.
This collection relates primarily to the Rhos and Wernos Collieries. Rhos was a slant mine which was established at Pantyffynon by the Rhos Colliery Company in 1913. It came under the control of United Anthracite Collieries in 1925 and finally closed in 1938. Wernos was opened in 1908 by the Rhos Colliery Company and was acquired by United Anthracite Collieries Limited during 1924. Wernos Colliery closed in November 1965.
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), pp. 437, 520-1; Hywel Francis & David Smith, The Fed: A History of the South Wales Miners in the 20th Century (London, 1980), p. 87.
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.