The collection consists of financial documents, correspondence and photographs pertaining to UiE and its predecessors - Marathon Oil, UCS and John Brown Shipbuilders - located in Clydebank. The records show the various projects completed at the shipyard throughout the lifespan on UiE.
Records of UiE Scotland Ltd
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 593 GDC14
- Dates of Creation1972 - 1999
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description7 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
UiE Scotland Ltd was originally founded in 1847 by James and George Thomson as J&G Thomson. In 1899 the company was taken over by John Brown & Co Ltd. During its time as John Brown Shipbuilding & Engineering Ltd the company had several high profile contracts with Cunard, which included the cruiseliner RMS Lusitania, and Royal Navy, building many of the warships for World War I and World War II.
Between the late 1960's and early 1980's the shipyard changed hands several times. From 1968 to 1972 the company was a part of the Upper Clyde Shipbuilders Ltd. After 1972 the company was owned by Marathon Oil and began building oil rigs.
In 1980 the company was bought by the French company Bouygues, became known as UiE Scotland Ltd and continued building oil rigs. UiE had several large contracts with oil companies such as Bluewater, Conoco and BP. UiE closed its doors in 2001 when it was scheduled for redevelopment.
The records have been arranged into six series, with each series reflecting the subject of the records and then into sub-series and files chronologically.
This collection is open to use. To view the collection, please contact the archivist to arrange a visit.
Transferred from West Dunbartonshire Council's Clydebank Town Hall.
Materials arranged and described by Sarah Houser while on University of Glasgow student placement, November 2015.
Other Finding Aids
The full catalogue is available on our website. To view the catalogue, please click here: Records of UiE Scotland Ltd
Records have been appraised according to advice received by the Business Archives Council of Scotland's Business Archives Surveying Officer. Duplicates have been weeded along with records not related to the core function of the business.
The records were transferred from UiE Scotland Ltd. after its closure in 2001 to West Dunbartonshire Council's Clydebank Town Hall. The records were subsequently transferred to West Dunbartonshire Council Archives.
No further accruals expected.