The papers in this series relate only to the financial interest held in the company by John Swire & Sons, Ltd, London. The operational and administrative papers of the business are held by the University of Glasgow Archive Services
Scotts Shipbuilding and Engineering Company
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 102 JSS/11/18
- Dates of Creation1960-1974
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description2 files
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Scotts Shipbuilding and Engineering Company was established in 1711 by John Scott. The family took over the Greenock Foundry in 1790, and began shipbuilding at Cartsdyke Dockyard as Scott & Company in 1850. By 1900 John Swire & Company were major shareholders and Henry Scott was a director of Swire. Swire's was 25% owned by the Scott Family. In 1925 Scotts took over Ross & Marshall's Cartsdyke Mid Yard. In 1934 they exchanged their Cartsdyke East yard for Cartsdyke Mid yard with Greenock Dockyard Ltd. In June 1965 the Company took over Scott's & Sons (Bowling) Ltd and in December 1965 Scott's merged with the Greenock Dockyard Company and the Cartsburn and Cartsdyke Dockyards were fully integrated in 1966.
In 1967 the Company merged with Lithgows to form Scott Lithgow Ltd, operating as Scotts Shipbuilding Co (1969) Ltd. Scott Lithgow Ltd was absorbed into the nationalised British Shipbuilders in 1977.
Cartsdyke Shipyard was closed in 1979 and Cartsburn in 1984. In 1983 the Scott Lithgow company and yards were sold to Trafalgar House.
No further shipbuilding was undertaken and the 270-year-old Scott shipbuilding company finally ceased trading in 1993.