The idea for a dockyard in Hong Kong to service, repair, adapt and build vessels for the China Navigation Company [CNCo] was first put forward when the Sugar Refinery was established at Quarry Bay and surplus land remained on that site. The suggestion was made several times during the late Nineteenth Century but was opposed by John Samuel Swire as uneconomic and too far outside their usual interests. The need, however, for adequate, reliable and easily available overhaul facilities in the East increased and the Dockyard was eventually begun in 1900-1901 at Quarry Bay. It was registered in Britain with John Swire & Sons appointed as London Managers, Butterfield & Swire as Eastern Managers and Scotts Shipbuilding and Engineering Company as Expert Advisers. The first ship for CNCo was built by 1910, but it was sixteen years before there was a profit on the working account and twenty before a dividend was declared. The Dockyard's chief competitor was the Hong Kong and Whampoa Dock Company from whom the new firm faced considerable hostility for many years until a working agreement was reached between them in 1913. In 1940 the British company went into voluntary liquidation so that a new one could be opened and registered in Hong Kong and the Dockyard continued to expand after the Second World War despite the destruction caused by the Japanese during their occupation from 1942-1945.
TAIKOO DOCKYARD AND ENGINEERING COMPANY LIMITED
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 102 JSS/6
- Alternative Id.GB 102 JSSVI
- Dates of Creation1907-1972
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description52 boxes; 3 volumes
- Direct Link
Administrative / Biographical History
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
Paper handlist available
Conditions Governing Use
Copying for personal research purposes is permitted. Please contact the archivist for all publication requests.
Copyright is owned by John Swire & Sons, Ltd, 59 Buckingham Gate, London, SW1E 6AJ