Conway and Sons Dairies Ltd, Merthyr Tydfil, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The business was established in 1902 by Herbert Conway (1866-1927) who purchased the business interests of Charles Bates in Merthyr Tydfil. He was later joined by his sons George and Raymond, and in 1931 they formed a limited liability company. It was based at 22 High Street until 1962 when a new dairy and retail depot was opened at The Willows in Abercanaid. In 1973 it was sold to the Unigate group.
Conditions Governing Access
Presented in August 2013
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Good to fair condition
Compiled by M Wilcox for Glamorgan Archives with reference to Merthyr Historian vol 25.
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records were given by a member of the Conway family to Dr T F Holley who presented them to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are not expected.