STEVENTON FARM, STEVENTON, BERKSHIRE

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Consists of farm account book 1778-1814; reciepts and expenditure 1847-1848; labour books 1846-1848

Administrative / Biographical History

The earlier accounts were kept by James Roberts and the Cowdery family and the later by the Betteridge family. Little is known of the Cowdery family except that they resided in the parish in 1811. By 1863 they had ceased to farm in Steventon, although descendants survived in East Hendred, Berkshire, in 1939. The Betteridge family moved from Harwell, Berkshire in about 1860. By 1868, they were described in Kelly's Directory as 'residents' rather than farmers.

In the late 19th century the farm was owned by the Church Commissioners, who became the principal landowners in the parish. The earlier accounts appear to indicate that Cowdery was an owner-occupier, since there is no record of rent paid

Arrangement

  • 1 BOOKS OF ACCOUNT
  • 2 LABOUR BOOKS

Conditions Governing Access

Available for consultation

Acquisition Information

Presented on permanent deposit 1965 February 3 by Miss M. Betteridge, accession number 36

Other Finding Aids

A detailed catalogue is available at the Museum of English Rural Life

Conditions Governing Use

Please contact the Archivist

Subjects