Report Books 1973-1981; N.C.B seam name lists 1956; Letters 1934; Birth Certificate 1890
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 217 SWCC : MNB/COL/7
- Dates of Creation1890-1981
- Name of Creator
- Physical Description1 box, 3 volumes
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Coegnant Colliery is situated near Maesteg in the Llynfi Valley. The first shaft was sunk in 1882 by the Llynfi Coal and Iron Co. Ltd. In 1888, Colonel North bought the Llynfi company and transformed it into North's Navigation Collieries Ltd. This company was in turn purchased in 1916 by Lord Rhondda (David Alfred Thomas). By 1929, the colliery had become part of the newly formed Welsh Associated Collieries Ltd. In 1935, this association merged with the Powell Duffryn Steam Coal Company to form the Powell Duffryn Associated Collieries Ltd.
After the coal industry was nationalised in 1947, Coegnant Colliery was placed in the N.C.B's South Western Divisions No. 2 (Maesteg) Area. The Colliery provided good quality steam coal and a coking house but was closed by the N.C.B in 1982.
Source: Ray Lawrence, The South Wales Coalfield Directory, Vol. 2 (1998 edn), p. 145
Conditions Governing Access
Access unrestricted unless stated otherwise.
Other Finding Aids
A hardcopy list is available in the searchroom.
Conditions Governing Use
A photocopying service is available. Contact repository for details.
No publication without written permission from the Archivist.