- Board papers 1967-1982
- Directors' reports and accounts 1970-1982
- Directors' correspondence files 1937-1981
- Company secretary's files 1969-1983
- Financial records 1970-1980
- Planning department files 1970-1980
- Personnel and industrial relations files 1968-1981
- Plant and property files 1972-1980
Records of Scotts Engineering Co Ltd, Greenock, Inverclyde, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Marine engineering company, Greenock, Inverclyde, Scotland. Became a division of Scott Lithgow Ltd at the merger with Scotts' Shipbuilding & Engineering Co Ltd , Greenock, in 1970.
Prior to the merger, the business formed one part of Scotts' Shipbuilding & Engineering Co Ltd. Scotts of Greenock (est'd 1711) Ltd had, until 1825, acquired all machinery for their vessels from R Napier & Sons Ltd , shipbuilders and marine engineers, Glasgow, Scotland, or James Cook of Tradeston, Glasgow. In 1825, the company purchased the iron and brass foundry of William Brownlie and trading under the name of Scott, Sinclair and Co (adopted following the purchase of the Greenock Foundry in 1790) began the manufacture of marine engineering within the Scotts' group.
In 1859, the name was changed to the Greenock Foundry Co and in 1904 was absorbed into the parent company of Scotts' Shipbuilding & Engineering Co Ltd (incorporated 1899). As part of the parent company it absorbed Scotts & Sons (Bowling) Ltd in 1965 and the Greenock Dockyard Co Ltd in 1966.
In 1967, the parent company agreed to the merger with Lithgows Ltd shipbuilders, Port Glasgow, Inverclyde, to form Scott Lithgow Ltd . In order to facilitate this merger, Scotts Engineering Co Ltd was released from Scotts' Shipbuilding & Engineering Co Ltd to become part of the 1969 group of companies. this group of companies went on to become Scott Lithgow Ltd .
Nationalised in 1977, the company was then subject to British Shipbuilders ' reorganisation in April 1981. As part of this consolidation exercise, all company assets were transferred to the Scott Lithgow Ltd .
The business was sold to Trafalgar House plc in 1984 and engineering ceased in 1986.
This material is arranged into series, which consist of numbers of items related by function and/or format. Within series, the items are generally arranged chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
National Archives of Scotland : 1994
Held under the charge and superintendence of the Keeper of the Records of Scotland
Other Finding Aids
Manual file level list of the Scott Lithgow Group collection available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Requests for large scale copying must be referred to the Keeper of the Records of Scotland
Any requests to publish or reproduce documents from the collection must be referred to the Keeper of the Records of Scotland
This material has been appraised in line with National Archives of Scotland procedures
Records held by Scott Lithgow Ltd prior to their acquisition by the National Archives of Scotland
No known publication using this material
This material is original
The fonds level of description wascompiled by David Powell, Hub Project Archivist, 10 October 2001
No alterations made to date