Blaenau Llangernyw British School, possibly built in 1845 by members of the Calvanistic Methodist Church, was half a mile from the village and was attended by children from Pandy Tudur and Gwytherin.
The first log book entry records that by June 1863 there were 100 scholars on roll. It was a mixed junior and infants school divided into 7 classes. John Price was Head Teacher. He died in December 1892 having been in this role for 40 years.
Many of the children were often absent due to farming duties. ED/LB/62/8 page 501 ‘The great drawback here as in many places is bad attendance in the upper standards….’
In March 1914 RD Aubrey became Head Teacher. In May 1920 a HMI report stated that the head teacher – teaching standards 2-7 with a total of 37 scholars - was too great an age range to teach.
In 1926 the school, which had become known as Blaenau Council School, latterly became known as Pandy Tudur Council School.
The school closed in 1969. A new school proposal in February 1968 was for Llangernyw and Trofarth Voluntary Controlled Schools and Pandy Tudur County Primary School to be merged into a new school for 80 pupils at Llangernyw.
The new school, Ysgol Bro Cernyw, was opened as a combined school and community centre in Llangernyw to take all pupils from Llangernyw, Pandy Tudur, Trofarth and Gwytherin in October 1969.
This collection includes log books, admission registers and attendance registers.
OS 25 inch – XI -12 1900 Ed. and 1913 Ed. Marked ‘School’
OS 6 inch – 11.SE 1914-1915 Ed. Marked ‘School’
CD/A/4/81- Plans, 1906
DD/DM/341/58 – Denbighshire Free Press – November 8th 1969 – Page 10.