The collection consists of 95 glass lantern slides produced in the 1890s, principally of Lincoln Cathedral and Southwell Minster. There are also five slides of Scottish abbeys and Cathedrals (Paisley Abbey; Elgin Abbey; Kelso Abbey; Dunkeld Abbey; Abbey Church, Haddington).
The Frederick Evans Collection of Lantern Slides (Lincoln Cathedral and Southwell Minster), 1895-1898
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 159 Ev
- Dates of Creation1895-1898
- Physical Description95 slides
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The majority of slides in the collection were taken by Frederick Henry Evans (1853-1943). A professional bookseller in the City of London, he retired at the age of 45 in order to pursue his hobby of photography full-time. Evans concentrated on landscapes and ecclesiastical architecture, particularly the cathedrals of France and England. In 1900 the Royal Photographic Society held an exhibition of his work. For several years he sat on the selection committee of the Photographic Salon.
Slides by George Washington Wilson (1823-1893) and James Valentine (1815-1880) are also present. Both photographers had large commercial photographic businesses in Scotland, specialising in 'topographical' photography.
The slides have been grouped according to the relevant church, and then according to architectural feature within that church.
Conditions Governing Access
ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers.
REPROGRAPHIC: Photocopies and photographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposes only, depending on the condition of the documents.
Other Finding Aids
NOTE: Copyright on all Finding Aids belongs to the University of Nottingham.
- In the Reading Room, University of Nottingham Library: Typescript Catalogue, 5 pp
- At the National Register of Archives, London: Typescript Catalogue, 5 pp
Conditions Governing Use
COPYRIGHT: Identification of copyright holders of unpublished material is often difficult. Permission to make any published use of any material from the collection must be sought in advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections (email firstname.lastname@example.org ). The Department will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but the responsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the reader.
The collection was given to Nottingham University Library in 1971. It had formerly belonged to Mr H. Walker of Southwell, Nottinghamshire, a historian of ecclesiastical architecture.