Records of the Red Herring Club, Oxford, 1694-1775
Records of the Red Herring Club, Oxford
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 161 MSS. Top. Oxon. e. 281, f. 49
- Dates of Creation1694-1775
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish.
- Physical Description3 shelfmarks
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Red Herring Club, Oxford, was apparently founded by Edward Lhuyd, Keeper of the Ashmolean Museum, and seems to have had a Welsh connection.
Conditions Governing Access
Entry to read in the Library is permitted only on presentation of a valid reader's card (for admissions procedures see http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk).
Given to the Library by F.F. Falconer in 1938.
Collection level description created by Susan Thomas, Department of Special Collections and Western Manuscripts.
Other Finding Aids
P.S. Spokes, Summary Catalogue of Manuscripts in the Bodleian Library relating to the city, county, and university of Oxford. Accessions from 1916 to 1962 (Oxford, 1964).
MS. Top. Oxon. e. 281 was lot 1029 in Heber sale, part XI (MSS.), 18 Feb. 1836, and lot 145 in Henry Wellesley sale, 3 Aug. 1866. On fol. 136v rev. is the library stamp of Falconer Madan.
MS. Top. Oxon. f. 49 was formerly Phillipps MS. 22262, and has the Library stamp of Falconer Madan, B.N.C. Oxford.