Society records of the Methodist Church, Heslington Wesleyan Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Register of baptisms, 1919-1988; registers of marriages, 1975-1994; Trustees' records, including memorandum of appointment, 1905, meeting minutes, 1864, 1916, 1967-1974, and declaration upon adopting the new model deed, 1944; general church meeting and Church Council meeting minute book, 1967-1990; Society stewards' account book, 1844-1919; certified copy of 1854 certificate of place of meeting for religious worship, 1920.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

Methodism is believed to have been active in Heslington since 1812 and a chapel was opened there by the Wesleyan Methodist Association, a group of Protestant Methodists, as early as 1832.

The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built on Main Street in 1844 and remained in use until the 1940s, when it became the village meeting room. A second Methodist chapel, built by the Independent Methodists in 1847 and later acquired by the Primitive Methodists, was in use until 1971.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Connexion, the Wesleyan chapel at Heslington joined York, New Street Circuit in 1867 and then transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888. It remained part of the Centenary Circuit of the now single Methodist Connexion following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932.

Following the closure of the last Methodist chapel in the village in 1971, the Methodist Church arranged for its congregation to share the Anglican parish church of St Paul's. As of 2016 St Paul's is known as Heslington Church and is a local ecumenical partnership between the Church of England and the Methodist Church.

Since 2012 the Methodist congregation have been part of the single York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1997. Further additions were made to the archive in 1997 and 2013.

Note

Methodism is believed to have been active in Heslington since 1812 and a chapel was opened there by the Wesleyan Methodist Association, a group of Protestant Methodists, as early as 1832.

The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built on Main Street in 1844 and remained in use until the 1940s, when it became the village meeting room. A second Methodist chapel, built by the Independent Methodists in 1847 and later acquired by the Primitive Methodists, was in use until 1971.

Originally part of the single York Circuit of the Wesleyan Connexion, the Wesleyan chapel at Heslington joined York, New Street Circuit in 1867 and then transferred to the new York, Centenary Circuit in 1888. It remained part of the Centenary Circuit of the now single Methodist Connexion following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932.

Following the closure of the last Methodist chapel in the village in 1971, the Methodist Church arranged for its congregation to share the Anglican parish church of St Paul's. As of 2016 St Paul's is known as Heslington Church and is a local ecumenical partnership between the Church of England and the Methodist Church.

Since 2012 the Methodist congregation have been part of the single York Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1997. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Borthwick Institute for more information.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for York, New Street and York, Centenary Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion, and York, Centenary Circuit of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute. The records of both Centenary Circuits form a single archive (MRC/3).

Additional Information

Published

GB193