These are the records of Newstead/Longden House (N:LH), 1900-1977.
Although these two social centres were separate institutions, they also had a co-existing and intertwined relationship and have therefore been catalogued as one collection.
In 1899, the Salvation Army opened Wincobank Hall as its 'rescue home' in Sheffield. By 1908, Wincobank has been redesignated, along with most of the other old rescue homes, as an industrial home.
In 1915, the home at Wincobank Hall was transferred to 29-31 Kenwood Park Road, Sheffield and renamed 'Newstead'.
In 1942, Newstead became a (Home Office) Approved Home. At the same time the two houses that formed the home were reorganised as separate centres, with one of the houses (at no 31) becoming known as 'Longden House' - an Approved Hostel. By the 1970s both homes had been redesignated as Community Homes.
Newstead and Longden House were closed in 1985.
These records cover the life of Newstead/Longden House from 1899 (under its first name Wincobank Hall) until 1977. Some items are closed - with all being individually marked. As a general rule (as of 2009) files or volumes which have sensitive content are closed for 75 years.
The records were not kept in any 'original order' so have been arranged in a logical structure. At times it has been difficult to accurately establish the relationship between the two homes or the provenance of some of the records, so sensible decisions have been made to determine the most likely situation and origin.
The arrangement of the records is as follows:
N:LH/2 Longden House
N:LH/3 Shared records