In 1868, there were plans for a school for 200 children, a master's house and garden, schoolroom, classroom and playground in the Gothic style (Coflein).
On 31st January 1870 the girls and infants school opened. There were 21 pupils on roll and Mary Francis Evans was the head teacher. By May 1882 the girls and boys were joined to form a mixed school in a separate building and the school became infants only.
In 1883 James Sellars was the non-Welsh head teacher and the curriculum was heavily religious with Bible lessons. There is reference to Rev Jenkins Jones who 'wishes all boys punished who persist in speaking Welsh instead of English' [ED/LB/18/4 pg.61]
In 1883 the new head teacher was John Matthews and there were over 50 scholars on roll. The school began to receive more favourable reports. The Head teacher often had 60 scholars to teach alone. By 1910 there were 78 scholars on roll.
On 1st June 1904 the school became under LEA control and was now known as Cerrigydruidion NP School.
On 3rd October 1911 the foundation stone of the nearby Alwen Reservoir was laid.
There was some disagreement between this head teacher and the rector of Cerrig and correspondent of managers of the school the Rev Herbert Evans, who called the head teacher 'a backsliding sly fellow' in the presence of the scholars which lead to court proceedings. (ED/LB/18/5 pg.413). John Matthews resigned in September 1918 after 35 years as head teacher.
In May 1915 there was a tea party for the children given by Mrs Cornwallis West at Ruthin Castle.
Head teachers following were Idwal Davies until 1926 then David Davies began a long term of office.
In 1939 the school rented a plot of land to create a school garden and evacuees started to arrive from Liverpool.
The original school closed around 1970(?) when plans for a new school were discussed (see PD/18/1/115).
This collection includes log books, admission registers and managers minutes.
Current school is Cerrig-Y-Druidion County Primary school, Ffordd Yr Alwen, Corwen LL21 9SW.
Original school- OS map, sheet XX1V, 1880
CD/A/4/202 Plans, 1966
PD/18/1/104-118 Papers, 1877-1972
PPD/18/23-24 Photographs, c.1910