STONE'S HOSPITAL

Scope and Content

Stone's Hospital (almshouse) was built in St. Clement's in 1700. £300 was provided from William Stone's estate for the building of the Hospital; the remainder of the estate to be expended on property from which any profits could go towards the maintenance of the residents.

A further legacy of £1000 was left to the Hospital in 1709 by Dr. Stephen Fry.

Stone's Hospital was vested in Oxford Municipal Charities in 1959.

For further details see Tiffany, M.N.E., 'Mr. Stone's Hospitall: The History of the Rev. Mr. William Stone and his Hospital', (2000)